bilingual babies are smarter?

I stumbled upon this article today and found the results quite interesting, especially from a bilinguals point of view. In short the article says that babies who are exposed to more than one language right from the beginning of their lives develop better information processing skills compared to one-language-only babies.

It makes me wonder how much my own bilingualism has affected my learning ability because I’ve always found studying quite interesting & easy..?

Continuous research on bilingual children and their intelligence development also strengthens my thoughts of (one day hopefully not too far away) raising bilingual children. For me at least, being bilingual has definitely helped in learning even more languages and understanding the differences and similarities in them. And of course, it’s an asset when applying for jobs in bilingual-Finland. However, bilingual or not, I think learning and knowing a new language will always be an asset.

learningbaby

Leave a Reply

